How to Reach Nepal

India – Nepal: Travelling by Land

S.No.RouteApprox. Distance (border towns to major cities)Nearest Railways Station in India
1Siliguri- Kakkarvitta- Kathmandu620 kmNew Jalpaiguri (NJP)
2Jogbani-Biratnagar-Kathmandu550 kmJogbani
3Raxaul-Birgunj-Kathmandu280 kmRaxaul (RXL)
4Sunauli-Bhairahawa-Kathmandu280 kmGorakhpur (GKP)
5Rupaidiya-Jamuna (Nepalgunj)- Kathmandu520 kmRupaidiya / Nanpara
6Gauriphanta-Mohana (Dhangadi)-Kathmandu630 kmGauriphanta/ Paliya
7Banbasa-Gaddachauki (Mahendranagar)- Kathmandu715 kmBanbasa/ Tanakpur
8Sunauli-Bhairahawa-Palpa-Pokhara185 kmGorakhpur (GKP)
9Sunauli-Bhairahawa-Chitwan145 kmGorakhpur (GKP)
10Sunauli-Bhairahawa-Lumbini26 kmGorakhpur (GKP)

Via Border, Domestic Airlines can be taken too from the nearest airport from the entry point to Kathmandu.

Please note that overland tourists entering Nepal with their vehicles must possess an international carnet or complete customs formalities.

India – Nepal: Travelling by Air

All flights come via Tribhuwan International Airport (Kathmandu)

Direct Flights are available from

  • Delhi
  • Mumbai
  • Kolkotta
  • Bagdora
  • Vanarasi

  • VISA

    Visa on arrival – Visa Entry Points

    All visitors entering Nepal by land must use these designated entry points and may not enter from any other point:
    (1) Kakkarvitta
    (2) Birgunj
    (3) Belhiya, Bhairahawa
    (4) Nepalgunj
    (5) Dhangadi and
    (6) Mahendranagar in the Nepal-India border and
    (7) Kodari in the Nepal-China border

    All Visas are on arrival basis: (Indian Nationals do not require a Visa but requires a valid government ID)

    Visa FacilityDurationFee
    Multiple entry15 daysUS$ 25 or equivalent convertible currency
    Multiple entry30 daysUS$ 40 or equivalent convertible currency
    Multiple entry90 daysUS$ 100 or equivalent convertible currency

    Each Person Needs to Carry/ Submit 2 Passport Size Picture to obtain visa on arrival

    Visa has to be paid in cash in Euro, Swiss Franc, Pound Sterling, US Dollar, Australian Dollar, Canadian Dollar, Hong Kong Dollar, Singapore Dollar and Japanese Yen

    Nationals from Nigeria, Ghana, Zimbabwe, Swaziland, Cameroon, Somalia, Liberia, Ethiopia, Iraq, Palestine and Afghanistan will need to obtain visa from Nepal Embassies or Diplomatic Missions in their respective countries, as they do not get visa on arrival at the immigration entry points of Nepal.